Drug Safety


Drug deaths may be intentional – suicide or homicide – or accidental. Death from accidental drug overdose has become a national crisis, and Georgia is no exception.  In 1999, the death toll from drug overdoses was 300 and as of 2011 deaths have climbed to over 1,000.  Recently, CDC has issued opioid prescription guidelines that were targeted to primary care providers, who are responsible for approximately half of all opioid prescriptions.  However, there is a lack of data on the prescribing habits of all providers.  Additionally, people who are already dependent on opioids are likely to switch to heroin as the supply of opioids becomes less available.  Since prescribing behaviors are likely to differ across states, it is important to have state-specific data to address the issues.


Task force goals will be data driven and will aim to dramatically reduce drug injury and death in Georgia.  The initial objective is to identify data sources and analyses that provide accurate information on drug injury and death in Georgia, assess the strengths and limitations of the data, and develop an action plan.  The priorities and action plan depend upon what data exist and its strengths, limitations, and accessibility.


Bruce Jeffries, PA, MA – Deputy Director of Health Protection, Georgia Department of Public Health

Adam Pomerleau, MD – Assistant Professor, Emory School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine, Georgia Center for Poison Control

Alaina Steck, MD Assistant Professor, Emory School of medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine

Leadership and Program Support

Sharon Nieb, PhD – IPRCE Associate Program Director 

Task Force Member Organizations

Centers for Disease Control

  • Laura Edison, MPH – Epidemiologist – Georgia Department of Public Health
  • John Zibbell, PhD – Heatlh Scientist

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

  • Maneesha Agarwal, MD – Assistant Professor, Emory School of Medicine
  • Harold Simon, MD, MBA – Vice Chair of Pediatrics, Emory School of Medicine

Davis Direction Foundation

  • Missy Owen – President

Emory School of Medicine

  • Karen Kuehn Howell, PhD – Assistant Professor
  • Adam Pomerleau, MD – see above
  • Alaina Steck, MD – see above

Georgia Department of Public Health

  • Rana Bayakly, MPH – Chief Epidemiologist
  • Stephanie Gitukui – Public Health Analyst
  • Bruce Jeffries, PA, MA – see above
  • Irene Walker, MPH – Epidemiologist

Georgia State University

  • Sheryl Strasser, PhD – Associate Professor

Lacey Drug Company

  • Larry Braden, PharmD – President

Medical Association of Georgia Foundation

  • Lori Murphy – Director of Development

Safe Kids Georgia

  • Mahwish Javed, MS, MPH – Program Coordinator

Note:  Some members are also members of the US Attorney’s Office Heroin Working Group for Northeast Georgia

Meeting Structure

Monthly – 90 minutes